Auld Mug Trophy Event, 12 April 2021

The Auld Mug Trophy Event 2021, was held on a perfect Autumn day in April, at the Ferrymead Lake. Organised by the CJCOA.

This is a handicap based regatta, which means the skippers are sailing, attempting to beat their expected placings. The handicap is based on information built up from past events. The person placed highest against their expected finishing place is the trophy winner (there are no "line honours"). The coveted Prize is to have your name engraved on The Auld Mug. This event was first held in 2011, when Graeme Raxworthy was the winner.

Previous winner are:

Cyrus Berry (2012), Robin Brooker (2013), Dennis Rump & Glen Church (2014), Cliff Bishop (twice: 2015, 2020), Roger France (2016), Steve Anderson (2017), and Mike Innes (2019).

Graham Parratt, Wes Purves, Jim Paterson, Vern Rolton, Tom Wilda, the race officers and event team arrived early at 8am. A calm breathless morning, not a ripple! They had gone to the effort of bringing all the kit required. The dinghy was launched with Tom rowing and Jim deploying the buoys, with Polly enthusiastically directing from the shore, expecting an Easterly, or maybe Southerly or perhaps becalmed.

Briefing; launching the 14 boats; jostling at the start; the 60 second countdown; portstarboard confrontations — and then they are off! A light fickle breeze, a tussle with more port and starboard challenges as we all attempt to negotiate the first mark! It is hard to judge the distance to this yellow buoy. The inevitable pile-up. Penalties done (mostly). The race must go on. The breeze comes and goes. Polly is determined to get the 12 races accomplished. He did! We did!

Jim Paterson wins the first race, and subsequently won another 4 races! And got two second places. He won overall line honours, with runners up **Bruce Lang** and **Cliff Bishop**.

The Winner of the Auld Mug was **Rodney Ford**, with runners up **Vern Rolton** and **Peter Crofts**.

Happy sailing Rodney Ford